top of page

Is Deep Conditioning Really That Serious?



Yes! Deep conditioning has really made a difference in the feel of my hair as well as the length retention. I attribute the vast majority of my hair health to deep conditioning and low manipulation.


I saw a youtube video from MoKnowsHair about different causes of hair breakage. In the video, she talked about over-processing your hair while using a deep conditioner. I found it really interesting because I have been notorious for leaving my deep conditioners in overnight. One thing I would notice from leaving my deep conditioners in overnight was my scalp would be really itchy, throughout the night (my hair was covered to protect my pillow and face). However, I didn't notice any drawbacks to my hair, which is why I continued to deep condition at night. Who really wants to get in and out of the shower 3 times to care for their hair? What MoKnowsHair is suggesting leaving in the deep treatment for the amount of time suggested on the package (typically 5-10 for mine).


My initial skepticism leads me to believe that this amount of time would not produce results. The longer the treatment is in the better right? Well, since I have a number of products now (influencer life, check out my posts on how to become an influencer and get gifted items) I figure it's worth a try. For the past 3 wash days, I've left my deep conditioner in for about 5 minutes while I was still in the shower. So far so good. I don't have to get in and out of the shower, my hair felt soft, my scalp didn't itch. I may adopt this as my standard. The only drawback I realized is, this method doesn't allow me to steam my deep conditioner or sit under a heat cap. I may start to alternate in shower deep conditioning and enhanced deep conditioner. For the foreseeable future, I will not be sleeping in my deep conditioner any longer.


I hope this helped you explore some options for incorporating deep conditioning into your routine if you haven't already. Let me know how it works out!



IMG_1823_edited.jpg

Welcome to my blog!

​

I started when I wasn't ready, as we should! My name is Chloe and I provide tips and tricks to mastering your natural hair and the needed practice of self love. I'm a licensed clinical social worker from Florida who is here to give you all the tea.

​

  • LTK icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • TikTok
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest

SEARCH

SHOP MY FAVORITES

PINTEREST

SPONSORS

ADVERTISE

bottom of page